Skip to Main Content

Caregivers Resources: Visually Impaired, Deaf & Hard of Hearing

ReciteMe & ZoomText Accessibility Software

ReciteMe is one of the latest improvement to our website. 

'Recite' is a cloud-based web accessibility solution which allows PPLD's visitors to customize the library's website the way they need it to work for them.

Software includes:

  • text to speech functionality,
  • dyslexia software,
  • an interactive dictionary,
  • a translation tool with over 100 languages and many other features.

 

Recite works across

all devices.

Options to assist users include changing:

  • font size,
  • color,
  • read aloud option,
  • language and more...

You'll find the service labeled as "Accessibility Toolson our uppermost menu bar.

Accessibility Tools (highlighted)

If you are unable to see the service, please close your browser and reopen it.

If you access the library's webpage using a bookmark you may need to save an updated bookmark. 

ReciteMe User Guide

'Recite' currently works with our TixKeeper service and we're working on adding it to our EventKeeper service in order to round out the entire patron experience.

If you'd like to learn more about the various features visit http://www.reciteme.com/.
 

**If you have any questions or are experiencing technical issues please call and let us know at the Reference Desk, 1-845-485-3445, x3702.


ZoomText Software -

We currently have one computer on the Main Floor at the Adriance Memorial Library with ZoomText Software. ZoomText allows text magnification with optional screen reading and works within applications, email and the internet. If you'd like to try this please bring headphones and ask for assistance at the Reference desk.

Deaf & Hard of Hearing

Deafness and Hearing Loss (who.org) - Fact sheet provided by the World Health Organization.

Deaf Community and Culture - Frequently Asked Questions National Association of the Deaf (nad.org)

Deaf Culture (vawnet.org) - Includes: Definitions/Acronyms, History, Inclusion?, Myths and realities, ...

  • Etiquette (vawnet.org) - While norms may change from community to community and person to person, there are some common behaviors accepted throughout the Deaf community. While some such bahaviors may be considered rude in a group of hearing individuals, they may be actually quite acceptable within the Deaf Community. Deaf community norms include: 
    • Maintaining eye contact.
    • Being blunt and direct, whether in description or opinion.
    • Waving, tapping the shoulder, stamping on the floor, banging on the table, and turning the lights on and off to get someone's attention.
    • Touching during conversations.
    • Hugging when greeting or leaving.
    • Long goodbyes (saying goodbye to multiple people and engaging in further conversation during this process).
    • Walking between persons who are using sign language to communicate.
    • Exaggerated facial expressions in conjunction with the use of ASL (Facial expressions are an important part of communication in Sign. Additionally, Deaf people learn to read facial expressions when communicating with hearing people. It is very important to be mindful of body language when communicating with a Deaf person.)
    • Sharing of information which might typically be considered personal to themself and others. This is due to the collective nature of the Deaf community, and can be a serious barrier for advocates who struggle to help their Deaf clients understand the importance and/or meaning of confidentiality.

Resources About Deaf Culture and History (storiesbyhand.com) with Kathy MacLillan - American Sign Language fun for children, teens and adults.

National Association of the Deaf (nad.org) -

Videophone: 

1-301-587-1788 (Purple/ZVRS)

1-301-328-1443 (Sorenson)

1-301-338-6380 (Convo)

TTY:

1-301-810-3182

  teaches conversational ASL. Packed with 2,500+ signs and phrases, easy navigation and features with different signers, the ASL app is designed to make learning easy, accessible, and fun.

Save favorite signs (or the signs you want to practice more), go into slow mode, and tap/scrub the video anytime you want to pause or go back. Aimed at making the learning experience feel natural.

The ASL app is designed by Deaf people for you.

 

ASLPRO (.com) - Features American Sign Language Video Dictionaries and Quizzes.

ASL Sign Language Dictionary (handspeak.com) 

  Sign Academy (youtube.com) - 

A small business focused on helping more people learn sign language. Videos offers high-quality, flexible, and personalized growth opportunities for sign language interpreters and sign language learners.

SigningSavvy (.com) is an ideal resource to use while you learn sign language. It includes a sign language dictionary that provides the ability to view signs, build word lists and share them with others, create digital flash cards and quizzes, view asl sentences, get tutoring, ...and more.

** Click the Settings (gear) icon located at the bottom of any video to change/slow down the playback speed!! **


    ASL Stories Directory (deafchildresn.org)

This ASL Stories Directory makes it easy for you to find hundreds of free videos of ASL retellings of a child’s favorite books. Research shows that reading and signing stories together helps promote essential literacy skills for ALL children: deaf, hard of hearing, and hearing. Use the ASL Stories Directory to quickly find stories by age or by the book’s title. 



The Best Hearing Aids of 2023 (caring.com) - Provides vetted organizations to help seniors get access to affordable hearing aids that can ensure safety and quality of everyday life. Includes national and state resources for free / subsidized hearing aids.

Books & Video - Deaf & Hard of Hearing

flag, red icon Click on the links below to view titles available in the Mid-Hudson Library System.

American Sign Language.

Deaf -- Means of communication -- United States.

Deaf, hard of hearing (Results of this keyword search have been narrowed down by Literary Form: Non-Fiction.)

State Funded Equipment for the Blind

Talking Book and Braille Library - New York State Library (nysl.nysed.gov)

The New York State Talking Book and Braille Library (TBBL) is a free library service for eligible residents of upstate New York who are unable to use standard print materials due to a visual or physical disability. Once the application has been approved materials are mailed to and from library patrons at their homes at no charge. Currently, over 15,000 New Yorkers of all ages are registered for TBBL services.

The TBBL collection includes fiction and nonfiction audio and braille books, with over 70 magazine subscriptions available as well. The Library loans playback machines to those using audio books; books can also be downloaded directly to a tablet or smartphone.

Services Available to:

  • Adults
  • Children / Students
  • Schools
  • Other Institutions

Related Resources provided by New York State Library:

To view a Talking Book device contact Jessica Sherman at the Adriance Memorial Library by phone: 1-845-485-3445, x3315 or email: jsherman@poklib.org .

Large Print Books & Books on CD

Search the phrase 'large print' (surrounded by quotes) for a list of Large Print books available in the Mid-Hudson Library System(MHLS)'s Online Catalog (OPAC).

  • Narrow your results using any combination from the left-hand side of the screen.

Similarly, search the phrase 'book on cd' (surrounded by quotes) for a list of Books on CD available in the MHLS.

  • Narrow your results using any combination from the left-hand side of the screen.

** Remember, 'Books on CD' are 4 3/4 inch digital sound discs that need to be played in a Compact Disc player (or a compatible drive on your computer). **


You can also, search the Discover - OPAC by: author, title or keyword and then,

  • Narrow the results by selecting 'Large Print' or 'Book on CD' listed under Format.

e-Library (eBooks & audiobooks)

Visit our e-Library to search for and download e-books & audiobooks available from the Poughkeepsie Public Library District. Adjust the settings on your individual device to change the text size, color and brightness for eBooks or download an audiobook to listen to.

hoopla digital allows Poughkeepsie Library District card holders to check out 12 items every month, including movies, music, e-books, audio books, and comics. Stream from your internet-connected device, or Roku, Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV. Download titles from the Hoopla app to access offline; title will be available during your loan period.

Libby by OverDrive delivers best-selling e-books and audiobooks for checkout, download, and transfer to supported mobile devices for all Mid-Hudson Library patrons.

DaybyDayNY provides new fun reading activities daily! All Mid-Hudson Library patrons can stream this service from an internet connected device.

Click on the "Read With Me" button, then select Storyline Online and listen to Screen Actors Guild members read children's books aloud...