Resource Directory for Children and Young Adults with Special Health Care Needs New York State Department of Health (health.ny.gov)
Resources for Children with Special Needs (path: poklib.org/youth/parenting-resources / special-needs/) - Find contact information of local, state and national agencies from a list of topics for parents of children with special needs.
What Is Early Intervention?
Understood: for learning & attention issues (understood.org) ...15 nonprofit organizations have joined forces to support parents of the one in five children with learning and attention issues throughout their journey.
Understood.org offers state-of-the-art technology, personalized resources, free daily access to experts, a secure online community, practical tips and more.
Kids Health (.org) - Resources for Parents, Kids, Teens and Educators provided by Nemours Children's Health.
Parent & Caregiver Guide to Driving With a Child Who Has a Disability by Deb Gordon (moneygeek.com)
The JPC Collection is available on the 2nd/Children's floor at the Adriance Memorial Library. The collection has both print resources and videos.
Call the Children's Room to ask about the collection 1-845-485-3445, x3320.
Does My Child Have A Developmental Delay?: A Step-by-Step Guide for Parents on Early Intervention by
Parents can easily be confused when they suspect that their child may have a developmental delay. The family members can have many questions about the process of seeking special education support, and they often feel isolated from friends and family as they attempt to make the best decisions for their child. Does My Child Have a Developmental Delay?: A Guide for Parents on the Early Intervention Process is a step-by-step guide for families on how to navigate the early intervention process.
The Complete IEP Guide: How To Advocate For Your Special Education Services For Your Child by
The Complete IEP Guide provides parents with the tools to create and maintain a useful IEP plan for a child with special needs. The timely legal information, practical advice, and step-by-step instructions make this an invaluable resource for parents of children with disabilities.
Creative Coping Skills for Children: Emotional Support Through Arts and Crafts Activities by
Everyone has different needs when it comes to coping with life's stressors, and children are no different. Some need quiet and soothing activities to calm them down, whereas others require more physical activity or intense sensory input to relax their minds and bodies. This resource comprises a collection of fun, flexible, tried-and-tested activities and make-it-yourself workbooks for parents and professionals to help a child in need of extra emotional support find the coping skills that fit them best. ,,,
Yoga for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Step-by-Step Guide for Parents and Caregivers by
Having successfully used yoga to combat the stress of their own busy lives, Dion and Stacey Betts discovered its potential for their son Joshua, who has Asperger Syndrome. This fully-illustrated book combines the authors' professional expertise with their experience of parenting, offering a range of gentle and fun yoga positions and breathing techniques that are effective in dealing with the increased levels of anxiety, disorientation and tactile sensitivity often found in children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs). ...
Titles are listed alphabetically by Diagnosis/Disability/Disorder:
ADHD 2.0: New Science and Essential Strategies for Thriving with Distraction-From Childhood Through Adulthood by
In ADHD 2.0, Drs. Hallowell and Ratey, both of whom have this "variable attention trait," draw on the latest science to provide both parents and adults with ADHD a plan for minimizing the downside and maximizing the benefits of ADHD at any age.
Outsmarting Autism, Updated and Expanded: Build Healthy Foundations for Communication, Socialization, and Behavior at All Ages by
...For parents and families of children diagnosed with autism or Asperger syndrome, mental health and medical practioners, therapists, counselors, school counselors, school teachers -- anyone who interacts with children or adults with autism or Asperger syndrome, as well as for adults with autism or Asperger syndrome.
Epilepsy In Children: What Every Parent Needs to Know by
Epilepsy in Children offers the practical advice and information you need to respond to your child' s seizures safely and effectively, understand the latest treatment options, and find hope for a seizure-free future. ...
The Loving Push: How Parents and Professionals Can Help Spectrum Kids Become Successful Adults by
Parents, teachers, therapists, and anyone who cares about a child or teen on the autism spectrum need this essential roadmap to prepare our youth for being successful adults in today's world. Best-selling author, autism advocate, and animal science professor Dr. Temple Grandin joins psychologist and autism specialist Dr. Debra Moore in spelling out which steps you can take to restore your child's hope and motivation--and what you must avoid. Eight life stories told by people on the autism spectrum, including chapters on subjects like how to get kids off their computers, how to build on their strengths and get back to caring about their lives, and how to find a path to a successful, meaningful life make this a "must read book!"
Moving Out: A Family Guide to Residential Planning For Adults with Disabilities by
Mothers and fathers of children with special needs often report that "Letting go was the hardest thing I ever did". But finding the right residential situation for an adult son or daughter with an intellectual disability does not have to be overwhelming. In this one-stop, practical guide, authors Krouk-Gordon and Jackins share decades of combined experience counselling families on housing options and preparing themselves and their children for a new living arrangement. Though there is no "one-size fits all" solution to housing, this book presents many of the universal questions and considerations most families should face. ...
Helping Children Understand Death by
How can children begin to understand death and cope with bereavement? And how can we, as adults, support and engage with children as they encounter this complex subject? Exploring how children and adolescents can engage with all aspects of death, dying and bereavement, this comprehensive guide looks at how children comprehend the death of a pet or someone close to them, their own dying, bereavement and grieving. It covers how you should discuss death with children, with a particular emphasis on the importance of ...
Books about ChildCare may also be found in the Non-Fiction Print Book Collection located on the Main floor at the Adriance Memorial Library or requested from other libraries in the Mid-Hudson Library System.
Call the Reference desk to request a book in the collection 1-845-485-3445, x3702.
Complete Learning Disabilities Directory (21st ed) by
Published for over a decade, this directory continues to be a successful, sought-after resource, providing valuable information to professionals, families, and individuals in the learning disabilities community. Supported by the National Center for Learning Disabilities, this 2013 edition brings together the most up-to-date information on LD resources, new introductory articles, and more No Child Left Behind data.
Literacy for Visual Learners: Teaching Children with Learning Differences to Read, Write, Communicate and Create by
This book takes a fresh look at approaches to teaching reading, writing and communication skills. It presents a wealth of innovative ideas specifically designed to support visual learners, including those with autism spectrum conditions and special educational needs. Some children are more responsive to visual stimulation than spoken words, and this book shows how to engage these children in literacy lessons by using strategies that cover everything from the latest assistive technology to getting creative on a limited budget. ...
Anxiety Relief for Teens: Essential CBT Skills and Self-Care Practices to Overcome Anxiety and Stress by
With proven CBT-based skills and mindfulness techniques, this book can be your guide out of the spiraling stress of anxiety and get you back on track to living a happy and healthy life. Getting good grades, keeping up with social media, maintaining friendships... you have a lot on your plate and it's more difficult when you add anxiety to the mix. You may even be avoiding situations, events, or people that could trigger your anxiety. So, how do you stop yourself from missing out on life' With Anxiety Relief for Teens, Dr. Regine Galanti teaches you how CBT-based skills and mindfulness techniques can help you manage your anxiety and reverse negative patterns. Through simple and effective exercises that help you change your thoughts, behaviors, and physical reactions, this helpful guide gives you the tools you need to navigate all of life's challenges. ...
Supporting Children with DLD: A User Guide About Developmental Language Disorder by
...to help raise awareness of Developmental Language Disorder, and to highlight the impact of the condition from the child's point of view. With activities, prompts and sample questions, this is an essential resource to enable adults to understand the reality of living with DLD, helping children feel heard and respected, as well as providing a solid foundation for tailoring support to individual needs.
When Your Child Has a Chronic Medical Illness: A Guide for the Parenting Journey by
Written by leading mental health professionals, this warm and accessible parenting book for children with chronic illnesses offers clear, practical guidance for all aspects of the journey. For all its joys, parenting is a complex job, and when your child has a chronic illness, the stress can feel overwhelming. When your child is diagnosed, you begin a parenting journey filled with strong emotions, difficult choices, confusing words, and interactions with numerous professionals and specialists. ...
When Depression Is Silent by
The little girl living in the white house with the fence grows into an adult surrounded by a fence of violence, crime, and shame. Undetected and denied diagnosis A young girl growing up in a middle-class family appearing to have all things she needed in the eyes of others, but behind the walls of her mind lived depravity, isolation, and the lack of love and affection. Julia's parents failed to recognize the depression growing up with their little girl. Julia isolated herself from others which would linger on into her adulthood and depression that was kept silent. The undetected diagnosis sends her down the road to destruction with relationships and finally...
The Disconnected Kids Nutrition Plan: Proven Strategies to Enhance Learning and Focus for Children with Autism, ADHD, Dyslexia, and Other Neurological Disorders by
Based on Dr. Robert Melillo's Brain Balance Program, offering a drug-free, scientifically based method for addressing a wide range of conditions, including autism spectrum disorders and ADHD. Designed to help busy parents feed picky kids in a beneficial way, the book explains how to:
* Recognize the difference between a fussy eater and a problem eater;
* Ease the sensory issues that make for mealtime mayhem;
* Identify food sensitivities using a simple elimination diet;
* Choose supplements that will help ensure adequate daily amounts of the specific vitamins and minerals important to brain health;
* Make delicious, healthy meals that pass the taste test of finicky eaters;
* Understand the brain's primary role in food sensitivities and, other dietary issues...
Special Needs Trusts [2023]: Protect Your Child's Financial Future by
Leave money to a loved one with a disability--without losing benefits Use a special needs trust to provide financial security for your child (or anyone) with a disability, without jeopardizing important government benefits. Funds in a special needs trust, when used correctly, do not count against eligibility for benefits and can be spent to improve the quality of your child's life. This book provides everything you need to know about special needs trusts--whether you make one yourself with this book or have an attorney draft one for you. The authors explain: *how special needs trusts work ; the trustee's role ; ways to pass important information to successor trustees, and ; the pros and cons of joining a pooled trust.
HIJO MIO. Lo Que Todo Niño con Autismo Quiere Que Sepas by 
Click on the links below to view titles available in the Mid-Hudson Library System.
Children with mental disabilities -- Services for.
Developmentally disabled children -- Services for.
Children with disabilities -- Family relationships.
Parents of children with disabilities -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.