|
**Call and ask your health care provider's customer service department to clarify what is included with your insurance.** |
Affordable Health Insurance (.com) - Provides easy-to-understand guides to help people in communities across the U.S. who are struggling to make informed choices about health care coverage. A series of new guides walk readers step by step through the multiple options provided by Medicare, Medicaid, and insurance for people recently unemployed, including critical information like costs and financial assistance. |
Medicare and Medicaid: A Reference Handbook
by
Medicare and Medicaid: A Reference Handbook provides an in-depth discussion of these two large government health insurance programs. It additionally addresses such related issues as health care, government spending, and socialized medicine. Many Americans hold conflicting views on how to pay for health care. They fear that government involvement will either undermine the quality of care or cost taxpayers too much. However, over the past half-century, hundreds of millions of Americans have come to rely on government health insurance because they are elderly, low-income, or both. Medicare and Medicaid: A Reference Handbook provides high school and college readers with a one-stop resource on these two government insurance programs. A background and history of the topic are followed by a chapter on problems, controversies, and solutions. Perspectives and profiles speak to current program strengths, political concerns, and problems. There is a strong focus on current program challenges and opportunities. Moreover, most of the government documents referenced in a dedicated resources chapter are produced periodically, with updates accessible online...
Click on the links below to view titles available in the Mid-Hudson Library System.
Medical care -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Nuvance Health and Northwell Health:
6511 Springbrook Avenue
Rhinebeck, NY 12572
1-845-876-3001
(TTY) 1-800-421-1220
Vassar Brothers Medical Center
Vassar Brothers Medical Center (VBMC) is part of Nuvance Health®, a network of seven community hospital locations and numerous outpatient facilities throughout the Hudson Valley and across western Connecticut. Nuvance Health was formed in 2019 when Health Quest and Western Connecticut Health Network merged.
The following hospitals are part of the Nuvance Health system:
New York
Vassar Brothers Medical Center - Poughkeepsie, NY
Northern Dutchess Hospital - Rhinebeck, NY
Putnam Hospital Center - Carmel, NY
Connecticut
Danbury Hospital - Danbury, CT
New Milford Hospital - New Milford, CT
Norwalk Hospital - Norwalk, CT
Sharon Hospital - Sharon, CT
Vassar Brothers Medical Center
45 Reade Place
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
1-845-454-8500
(TTY) 1-800-421-1220
CareMount, ProHEALTH and Riverside medical groups have united as one regional group under Optum, a nationwide family of dedicated physicians and care teams, working together to help people live their healthiest lives.
Urgent Care -
1-844-484-6564
(same phone number for all locations)
Fishkill Westage
600 Westage Business Center Drive,
Fishkill, NY 12524
Poughkeepsie Columbia Campus
30 Columbia Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3906
Rhinebeck
6734 Route 9
Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Sun River Health (formerly Hudson River Health Care and Brightpoint Health.)
In December 2018, Brightpoint Health, an FQHC network offering integrated medical, behavioral, and social support services in New York City, merged with Hudson River Health Care. Together, with our subsidiary organizations and became Sun River Health in December 2020.
29 North Hamilton Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Medical: 1-845-454-8204
75 Washington Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
1-845-790-7990
Westchester Medical Center Health Network:
MidHudson Regional Hospital (formerly known as Saint Francis Hospital)
241 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Hospital Operator: 1-845-483-500
Good Samaritan University Hospital
Good Samaritan University Hospital, part of the Catholic Health system. Catholic Health is an integrated system encompassing some of the region’s finest health and human services agencies. The health system has nearly 16,000 employees, six acute care hospitals, three nursing homes, a home health service, hospice and a network of physician practices, including the Child Life Program offering services for Children with Special Needs.
Hospital switchboard (for information): 1-631-376-3000
For referrals consider contacting:
1-845-452-1700
(same phone number for all locations)
104 Fulton Ave.
Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
** Ask your health care provider if they offer Telehealth Services. **
Dutchess County Government (dutchessny.gov) - County/Non-County Services - Directory
Scroll down to the Health and Human Services heading to view a comprehensive list of county services and information as well as many services provided by non-county agencies covering:
Dutchess County's ThinkDIFFERENTLY, Services (thinkdifferently.net) - A user-friendly Search Engine to help find local services for a range of needs. Narrow results (using drop-down menus) by:
Using Advanced Filters (check 1 or more boxes to) select from: Advocacy Group, Individual, Parent Resources, Service Provider.
Help Is Here: Resource Directory produced by the Council on Addiction Prevention and Education (CAPE) of Dutchess County (capedc.org) - Find resources for Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester Counties.
NY Connects (nyconnects.ny.gov) - NY Connects can work with anyone who needs information, assistance or to explore their options regarding long-term services and supports - children or adults with disabilities, older adults, family members and caregivers, friends, or neighbors, veterans, and helping professionals.
WILC’s free NY Connects information and referral line, 1-800-342-9871, is open for business in seven counties in the lower Hudson Valley: Westchester, Putnam, Dutchess, Rockland, Orange, Sullivan, and Ulster.
Home Health Services Contact Information (dutchessny.gov) - Agencies and Hospice Contact Information available in Dutchess County.
Location(s): 51 Cerone Place, Newburgh, NY 12550
Contact Information: 855-485-6697
Website: EverCare
Sponsoring Agency: N/A
Additional Information:
Location(s): 2649 South Road, Suite 220
Contact Information: 845-471-4243
Sponsoring Agency: Health Quest, 45 Reade Place, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601, Health Quest
Additional Information:
Location(s): 374 Violet Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
400 Aaron Court, Kingston, NY 12401
Contact Information:
Poughkeepsie: 845-485-2273
E-mail: admissions@hvhospice.org
Website: Hospice
Sponsoring Agency: Hudson Valley Hospice, (845) 485-2273
Additional Information:
Location(s): 979 Route 22, Brewster, NY 10509
Contact Information: (845) 278-2550 or Toll Free: 1-888-367-8679
Website: VNS Westchester
Sponsoring Agency: VNS Westchester, 360 Mamaroneck Ave., White Plains, NY 10605
Additional Information:
Location(s): 4 Commerce St., Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
Contact Information: Newburgh, 845-635-1277
Sponsoring Agency: Willcare, Corporate Headquarters, 346 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202, 1-800-945-5227, Willcare
Additional Information:
Alzheimer's -
Alzheimer's Association (alz.org)
Alzheimer's Foundation of America: Caregiving Resources (alzfdn.org) - includes AFA National Toll-Free Helpline.
Cancer -
Healing Strong (.org) - Healing Strong helps to connect, support, and educate individuals facing cancer and other diseases with holistic, evidence-based non-toxic therapies.
Understand Your Lab Tests, Understand Your Health (testing.com)
This resource helps explain different types of tests and how, why and when they might be conducted. Conversely, as the site also explains, if you’ve completed testing and now have your results, you can explore this website to find information on your tests and begin to understand what your tests results might mean for you. **Disclaimer: Testing.com is listed on the Caregivers Resources guide solely for the learning guides they've compiled. The library does not endorse the products sold by this resource. Take the time to review Testing.com's Privacy Policy before beginning your research.*** AND, if you have medical questions, always consult your doctor. ***
Dutchess County Food Banks/Resources
This guide provides information about Food Banks, Meal Programs and Community Refrigerators available in Dutchess County.
Resources are listed alphabetically by municipality.
**Before visiting any of these locations, individuals should call to confirm the following:
