The Poughkeepsie Public Library District earned a Consumer Health Information Specialization (CHIS) in 2018 by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) and the Medical Library Association (MLA).
As a credentialed Consumer Health Information Library, we proudly present the following e-Resources for Consumer Health.
Click on the tabs above to access e-Resources about: General Health information, Comparing & Evaluating Resources, and Nutrition.
This guide is under constant review and will be updated frequently.
Get the latest public health information from CDC: https://www.coronavirus.gov
Get the latest research information from NIH: https://www.nih.gov/coronavirus
Use and Care of Masks - ( https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/about-face-coverings.html )
Center for Disease Control: CDC Resources in Languages Other than English - ( https://wwwn.cdc.gov/Pubs/other-languages?Sort=Lang%3A%3Aasc )
NY Project Hope (.org) - Coping with Covid.
NY Project Hope helps New Yorkers understand their reactions and emotions during COVID-19. Utilize an emotional support helpline, educational materials, trusted referrals, and local provider agencies… all dedicated to helping manage and cope with changes brought on by COVID-19.
NY Project Hope Crisis Counselors understand what you are going through. Talking with them is free, confidential, and anonymous. Talk with someone who is trained, knowledgeable and never judges. Sometimes it’s helpful to talk with someone you don’t know.
If you’re not up for talking, take a look at the articles, learn a few relaxation techniques or a few new coping tips.
Provided by the New York State Office of Mental Health.
Covid-19 Data in New York - ( updated portal, Oct. 2021 - health.ny.gov )
COVID-19 Vaccine - New York State
NYS Covid-19 Vaccination Hotline:
Ask a question about the Covid-19 Vaccine using this form. Answers will be provided in Governor Kathy Hochul's weekly e-newsletter.
New York State - Positive Tests Over Time, by Region and County Dashboard (healthy.ny.gov) - Click on the link or image (below) to visit the website for the most up-to-date data.
Dutchess County COVID-19 Community Impact Dashboard (dutchessny.gov) - Click on the link or image (below) to visit the website for the most up-to-date data.
American Addiction Centers - COVID-19 & Addiction: Risks of Going Untreated
Free Virtual Support Meetings - offered during this time using GoToMeetings virtual platform.
[PPLD's] Caregivers Resources Guide -
MedlinePlus – ( www.medlineplus.gov )
Created by the National Library of Medicine, this is the first place to go with ANY consumer health related question. Sites are current, reviewed, reliable, and accurate. MedlinePlus includes an encyclopedia, dictionary, drug database, several directories, and current news items. There are no advertisements on this site.
National Library of Medicine – ( https://www.nlm.nih.gov/ )
Find a complete list of National Library of Medicine databases and web resources on this site.
PubMed.gov – ( https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/ )
“Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
Choose from Topic-Specific Queries or, use the Search box at the top of the page to find citations to health-related articles. *Contact your librarian to inquire about requesting a copy of an article in Full-text.
PhPartners.org – ( https://phpartners.org/ph_public/hp2020 )
"A portal that links to news, reports, data, tools, and statistics on public health topics."
This resource helps find citations to published literature related to the Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries.*Contact your librarian to inquire about requesting a copy of an article in Full-text.
Healthy People 2030 - ( https://health.gov/healthypeople/about )
|American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP Foundation) – ( https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/healthlibrary/conditions/surgical_care/ )
Find information on: Diseases and Conditions ; Prevention and Wellness ; Family Health ; Your Health Resources ...or to Visit the Symptom Checker ("Choose a symptom and answer simple questions using our physician-reviewed Symptom Checker to find a possible diagnosis for your health issue. Consult with your doctor if you feel you have a serious medical problem.").
John Hopkins Medicine – ( https://familydoctor.org/ )
|Mayo Clinic – ( https://www.mayoclinic.org/ )|
WebMD – ( https://www.webmd.com/ )
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information through content that is timely and credible.
** Please Note: although many of these resources have been compiled and vetted by the National Library of Medicine, they advise consumers to
Read the Disclaimer.
The Medical Library Association (MLA)'s Top Health Websites – ( http://www.mlanet.org/page/top-health-websites )
The following link will direct you to a number of general and specialized consumer health websites focusing on: General Health, Cancer, Breast Cancer, Diabetes, Eye Disease, Heart Disease, HIV/AIDS and Stroke. Resources included in this website “have been deemed particularly useful…and are listed in alphabetical, NOT ranked, order.”
The MidHudson Regional Hospital – ( https://www.midhudsonregional.org/medical-services )
Formerly known as Saint Francis Hospital, MidHudson Regional Hospital is a local option to residents in the Hudson Valley with a number of specialized Medical Services available.
Scroll through an alphabetical list of Areas of Medical Excellence or choose the letter that corresponds with the service you're interested in.
American Heart Association – ( https://www.heart.org/ )
Many advocacy organizations have excellent websites, but one of the best is from the American Heart Association. The site covers all aspects of heart disease and stroke.
Cancer.gov – ( https://www.cancer.gov/ )
The National Cancer Institute is the Federal Government’s principal agency for cancer research and training... The site provides quality cancer information on cancer topics including news, clinical trials, statistics, research and funding as well as an extensive dictionary.
Drug Information Portal – ( http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp )
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other U.S. governmental agencies like the FDA and CDC.
Daily Med – ( www.dailymed.nlm.nih.gov )
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. Drug labeling on this site is the most recent submitted to the FDA and currently in use. Labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database – ( http://www.dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/ )
The dietary supplements labels database offers information about label ingredients from 4,000 brands on dietary supplements. It enables users to compare ingredients in different brands. Ingredients are linked to NLM resources like MedlinePlus and PubMed as well as other government online resources.
Drugs.com – ( http://www.drugs.com )
Although a .com site, the drug information database is powered by four independent medical-information suppliers: Wolters Kluwer Health, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and Thomson Reuters Micromedex. Individual drug or drug-class information content compiled by these sources is delivered complete and unaltered by Drugs.com
Pillbox – ( https://pillbox.nlm.nih.gov/ )
Identify or search for a pill by selecting characteristics from the drop down menus (Name or Ingredient; Imprint; Shape; Color; Inactive Ingredient).
United Way FamilyWize – ( https://www.unitedway.org/partners/FamilyWize# )
FamilyWize Community Service Partnership is working with United Way to help people nationwide get their much-needed prescription medications they otherwise wouldn't be able to afford.
The following websites offer health-related resources available in multiple languages.
HealthReach – ( https://healthreach.nlm.nih.gov/ )
An expanding resource, often working in tandem with MedlinePlus, that translates health-related articles, audio and videos into multiple languages. Search by language, choose a format, or browse by keyword.
Languages include: Spanish, Russian, Somali, Chinese (Traditional and Simplified), Arabic, Korean, French, Japanese, Vietnamese and more. Each downloadable .PDF article/file is a parallel document that shows the first page in English and the following page in the language you’ve selected.
Click on the Patient Materials tab and search for: health conditions and wellness topics, such as diseases, causes, symptoms, treatment, and prevention.
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages – ( https://medlineplus.gov/languages/languages.html )
From the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus covers over 1,000 health topics. The entire site is available in Spanish, while many topics are also available in other languages. Users can search by language or by health topic.
Specialized Information Services Multi-Cultural Resources for Health Information: Health Resources in Multiple Languages – ( https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/outreach/multicultural.html )
Scroll down and expand [+] for the list of Health Resources in Multiple Languages. Links are also provided in a number of different categories including Cultural Competency, Health Literacy, Limited English Proficiency, and Refugee Health Portals.
National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Health Information in Multiple Languages – ( https://nnlm.gov/consumer-health-information-many-languages-resources )
Provides links to a number of different resources that provide health information in multiple languages as well as Resources for Specific Languages.
Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages (SPIRAL) – ( http://spiral.tufts.edu/topic_list.shtml )
SPIRAL is maintained by the Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library... As the title describes, the sites provides various health resources in nine different Asian languages. Users can navigate by language or by health topic.
EthnoMed Patient Education – ( http://ethnomed.org/patient-education )
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Users can browse by health topic or by language.
Health Information Translations – ( https://www.healthinfotranslations.org/ )
This website provides plain language health education resources for health care professionals and others working in communities with limited English proficient populations. Users can search by keywords, health topic, or language.
The following health-related websites offer some resources available for the LGBTQ+ community and their supporters.
MedlinePlus – ( www.medlineplus.gov )
Search the term “ Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Health ” to access resources provided by the National Library of Medicine, HealthyPeople.gov, and the Center for Disease Control.
Creating LGBTQIA+ Friendly Communities in Healthcare & Education: Guidebook – ( https://www.edumed.org/resources/lgbtqia-healthcare-and-education/ )
Inclusive, welcoming, patient-centered healthcare should be afforded to people from all walks of life, especially those who often feel marginalized due to their sexual orientation or gender identity. Learn the challenges we face and the steps we can take to bridge the LGBTQIA+ health gap from the classroom to the clinic.
LGBTQ+ Comprehensive Health & Well-being Guide – ( https://www.drugwatch.com/health/lgbtq/ )
On this page drugwatch.com has provided a survey of issues facing the LGBTQ+ community including: Physical Health ; Fitness & Weight Issues ; HIV & STDs ; Mental Health ; Youth ; Coming Out ; Homelessness ; Substance Abuse ; and Suicide.
Financing & Support for Gender Confirmation Surgery – ( https://www.moneygeek.com/financial-planning/paying-for-gender-confirmation-surgery/ )
Between 1.4 million and 1.65 million adults in the U.S. identify as transgender, according to the Williams Institute at UCLA's School of Law. For many transgender and gender non-conforming individuals, medical transition is a significant and empowering part of their journey. Transition may include hormonal treatment and/or surgery known as gender confirmation surgery or gender affirmation surgery. ...Not all transgender people want to undergo gender confirmation surgery. But for those who do, the process can help to alleviate gender dysphoria. ...Learn more about the average costs of medical transition care options and find resources and ways to help fund procedures.
Financial and Social Resources for Homeless LGBTQ+ Youth – ( https://www.moneygeek.com/financial-planning/resources/lgbtq-homeless-youth/ )
In this guide, you’ll find state and national helplines, shelters and other organizations that can help, along with tips for how to avoid homelessness. If you are among the LGBTQ+ homeless youth in America, these resources can help you find support and a safe home.
LGBTQ+ Financial Guide to Becoming a Parent – ( https://www.moneygeek.com/financial-planning/resources/lgbtq-family-costs/ )
While starting a family can be complicated and expensive for any parent, it's especially true for LGBTQ+ people. The progress made in LGBTQ+ civil rights, along with advancements in medical and reproductive health technology, have given LGBTQ+ people who want to add children to their lives more options than ever. According to the Williams Institute, approximately 125,000 same-sex couples are raising 220,000 children in the U.S.
The following links provide information on LGBTQ+ health rights.
Health Care Bill of Rights – ( http://healthcarebillofrights.org )
What rights do LGBT people have right now when you go see a healthcare provider? Do hospitals prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity? Can you get help designating someone to make health decisions if you can’t? Find out these and more answers in The Healthcare Bill of Rights.
Health Care Equality Index (HEI) – ( https://www.hrc.org/hei )
The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities' policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees. The HEI 2018 evaluates more than 1,600 healthcare facilities nationwide.
GLMA Health Professionals Advancing LGBTQ Equality: Resources – ( http://www.glma.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=Page.viewPage&pageId=534 )
GLMA's mission is to ensure equality in healthcare for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals and healthcare providers.
CenterLink, The Community of LGBTQ Centers –
( https://www.lgbtcenters.org/ )
Serving over 200 LGBT community centers across the country… CenterLink assists newly forming community centers and helps strengthen existing LGBT centers…
LGBT Healthlink, The Network for Health Equality –
( http://www.lgbthealthlink.org/ )
A program of CenterLink. One of eight CDC-funded Cancer and tobacco disparity networks that offers a community-driven network of experts and professionals enhancing LGBT health by reducing tobacco, cancer and other health disparities within their communities.
Black Health & Wellness - 2022 Black History Theme – ( https://asalh.org/black-history-themes/ )
The theme for 2022 focuses on the importance of Black Health and Wellness by acknowledging the legacy of not only Black scholars and medical practitioners in Western medicine, but also other ways of knowing throughout the African Diaspora. The 2022 theme considers activities, rituals and initiatives that Black communities have done to be well including Birthworkers, doulas, midwives, natropaths, herbalists, etc.
The rise in new health fields have led to a rise in preventive care and a focus on body positivity, physical exercise, nutrition, exploring other dietary options such as veganism and vegetarianism, and gardening. Black Health and Wellness not only includes one's physical body, but also emotional and mental health. By selecting from the tabs available view Books, Websites, Audiovisual and other Historical Materials and Guides on Black Health and Wellness.