American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry: Resources for Helping Kids and Parents Cope Amidst COVID-19.
Brain Pop: Coronavirus: An online, interactive lesson on the Coronavirus for fourth graders and up that includes an animated movie, additional reading, worksheets, quizzes and other educational activities.
https://www.brainpop.com/health/diseasesinjuriesandconditions/coronavirus/
New York State Parent Portal: COVID-19 Resources for Parents. A wide variety of resources including videos and links for parents including physical and mental well-being, special needs children, activities, and up to date information from New York State Health Department.
Be a Virus Warrior! a Kid's Guide to Keeping Safe by
As the COVID-19 pandemic has spread around the world, it's left many adults and children searching for answers about how they can stay safe. By focusing on facts presented in a relatable way rather than fear, this illustrated guide to health and safety gives children the tools they need to understand what's happening in the world and to discover how they can become a virus warrior. Facts about coronaviruses are paired with essential information about social distancing, personal hygiene, and the things we can control in uncertain times, creating a learning experience designed to reduce anxiety. From Dr. Neil Winawer, Hospitalist and Professor of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine: "My son Matthew and I read Be a Virus Warrior! A Kid's Guide to Keeping Safe together. In a time when children and parents are looking for information about COVID-19, in a time of uncertainty, we found this book to be medically accurate, useful, and a good read."
Coronavirus by
"An elegant, effective work. Download this now, read it immediately, share it with everyone you know." -School Library Journal (starred review) This informative and accessible guide for young readers defines the coronavirus, explains why everyday routines have been disrupted, and lays out how everyone can do their part to help. With child-appropriate answers and explanations, the book addresses key questions, like: How do you catch coronavirus and what happens if you have it? Why are people so worried about it? Is there a cure? Why do we have to stay home? What can I do to help? And what happens next?
Lucy's Mask by
Suddenly, masks are everywhere. Are your kids confused and anxious about wearing a mask? Lucy's world turned upside down. She's bored. She can't be together with her friends. But when she finds out her mom is making her a new mask her boredom turns into excitement. Lucy loves masks! She dives into her toy box full of costumes and opens a world of imagination and make-believe adventure, far beyond the walls of her room. Of course, she doesn't realize that the mask her mom is making is not a costume at all but one that will keep her safe and make her a real-life superhero.For parents, grandparents and teachers searching for stories that give kids comfort and reassurance about the sudden changes around them, Lucy's Mask is a welcome new addition to reading time. This book is not a science lesson. It's a simple fun story that helps kids make sense of their emotions and makes this new reality more relatable and less scary. It is a wonderful tool to continue the conversation about germs, viruses, the pandemic, and what families have to do to keep themselves safe.A portion of proceeds from sales of Lucy's Mask will be donated to frontline workers and first responders.
Outside, Inside by
From Caldecott honoree LeUyen Pham,Outside, Insideis a moving picture book celebrating essential workers and the community coming together to face the challenges of the global COVID-19 pandemic. Something strange happened on an unremarkable day just before the season changed. Everybody who was outside . . . . . . went inside. Outside, it was quieter, wilder, and different. Inside, we laughed, we cried, and we grew. We remembered to protect the ones we love and love the ones who protect us. While the world changed outside, we became stronger on the inside and believed that someday soon spring would come again.
The Science of the Coronavirus by
COVID-19 has taken the entire world by storm. Many of the smartest people on Earth have been working to find treatments, a vaccine, and ultimately, a cure. So what exactly is COVID-19? What is a "coronavirus"? Where did the disease come from? How do you know if you have it? How is it treated? How do you stop yourself from getting it or passing it on to others? Learn all about the answers to these questions, and one more question on everyone's mind: When and how will the world go back to normal?
The Coronavirus Preparedness Handbook by
Life-Saving COVID-19 Information: Quarantines, Lockdowns, Face Masks, Immune Support, Food Readiness, Sanitation, and More The novel coronavirus disease, COVID-19, started in Wuhan, China. Shortly thereafter, 11 million people in Wuhan and 57 million people in other regions of China were under lockdown. But that was half a world away and couldn't happen here. On March 7, 2020, less than 90 days after the initial Wuhan outbreak, 16 million people in Italy were put on lockdown. How many of these people put on lockdown were prepared? Are you prepared? The Coronavirus Preparedness Handbook by Tess Pennington will prepare you for whatever may happen in your region. Find life-saving information, including everything you need to know about: Preparing for quarantine When to release someone from isolation Choosing face masks, respirators, and gloves Creating a medical supply chest Boosting your immune system Stocking your pantry Sanitation tips Communicating during lockdown Preparing your community and schools And more! From a description of the virus and how to prevent yourself from getting the virus to the supplies you should have in your house in case of a lockdown, this book will prepare you for all possibilities.
The Coronavirus Prevention Handbook by
From Dr. Wang Zhou and his colleagues at the Wuhan Center for Disease Control and Prevention comes a must-have guide for preparing for an outbreak of the coronavirus virus (COVID-19). The Center for Disease Control and Prevention in the US and the World Health Organization have declared the coronavirus a worldwide health emergency. The coronavirus was first identified in Wuhan, China. Now, from the medical experts there, comes the first authoritative, comprehensive guide to preparing for the ongoing epidemic (COVID-19). Written in plain language, here is information that will help readers and professionals understand the virus and protect themselves in the face of a possible outbreak. As COVID-19 continues to spread around the world--China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, and the United States--preventative measures such as controlling the source of infection, early detection of patients, and cutting off transmission are imperative. With 101 tips for individuals to prevent the spread of the virus, the information in this handbook could be lifesaving. The prevention tips include: Precautions for individuals and public places (handwashing, face masks, etc.) Strategies for detection and treatment of the disease An overview of the coronavirus and how it's spread Basics about contagious diseases With the number of reported cases of COVID-19 growing daily, the information in this book will help you protect yourself and your loved ones!
The Coronavirus Recovery Handbook by
From Dr. Liu Xiaodan and Dr. Shan Chunlei and their colleagues at the Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center and Lei Shenshan Hospital in Wuhan, comes a must-have guide for recovering and rehabbing after contracting the coronavirus (COVID-19). The Center for Disease Control and Prevention in the US and the World Health Organization have declared the coronavirus a worldwide health emergency. With the virus in 210 countries around the world, much focus is on the growing number of new cases. But how should those who have already contracted the virus start the recovery process? According to the clinical needs of mild and severe COVID-19 patients, The Coronavirus Recovery Handbook puts forward a series of lung rehabilitation training methods of integrated traditional Chinese and western medicine, which have been used in the Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center (affiliated to Fudan University) and Lei Shenshan Hospital in Wuhan. The pulmonary-based Qigong rehabilitation protocol (PQRP) featured in the handbook was created by Dr. Liu Xiaodan to aide in the recuperation of COVID-19 patients. Qigong is a centuries-old system of coordinated body-posture and movement, breathing, and meditation used for the purposes of health, spirituality, and martial-arts training. This is the first authoritative, comprehensive guide to recovering and rehabbing from COVID-19 with 19 easy-to-follow traditional Chinese exercises. Written in plain language, here is information that will help readers and professionals recuperate from this devastating virus. As COVID-19 continues to spread around the world--China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, and the United States--and cases continue to rise in number, the ability to regain one's strength, especially in the lungs, is imperative. Led by Dr. Liu Xiaodan and Dr. Shan Chunlei, The Coronavirus Recovery Handbook was created by the rehabilitation medicine team of Shanghai University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, based on their previous clinical and scientific research work, combined with relevant national diagnosis and treatment guidance and the clinical experience of many experts involved in the fight against this epidemic. With 19 exercises for individuals to utilize in their recovery from COVID-19, the information in this handbook could be lifesaving. If the worst should happen, the information in this book will help you recover your strength after fighting COVID-19.
When the World Feels Like a Scary Place by
"A terrific book for parents who want to know how to talk about difficult, emotional issues with children."--Nancy Eisenberg, Regents' Professor of Psychology, Arizona State University ​Includes how to talk to your kids about COVID-19. In a lifesaving guide for parents, Dr. Abigail Gewirtz shows how to use the most basic tool at your disposal--conversation--to give children real help in dealing with the worries, stress, and other negative emotions caused by problems in the world, from active shooter drills to climate change. But it's not just how to talk to your kids, it's also what to say: The heart of When the World Feels Like a Scary Place is a series of conversation scripts--with actual dialogue, talking points, prompts, and insightful asides--that are each age-appropriate and centered around different issues. Along the way are tips about staying calm in an anxious world; the way children react to stress, and how parents can read the signs; and how parents can make sure that their own anxiety doesn't color the conversation. Talking and listening are essential for nurturing resilient, confident, and compassionate children. And conversation will help you manage your anxieties too, offering a path of wholeness and security for everyone in the family. "Remarkable... Compelling advice illustrated with memorable case examples."--Ann S. Masten, PhD, Irving B. Harris Professor of Child Development, University of Minnesota