PPLD's Cookbook & Recipe Blog - LibGuides at Poughkeepsie Public Library District

American Icons, Indexed

April 24, 2024.

by Bridget O’Donnell

Maybe you remember this writing prompt from grade school:

Describe how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Be mindful when listing the instructions and don't assume that any step is too menial to mention. Once you're satisfied that everything is organized and in working order, follow your instructions.

Collect your ingredients and arrange the sliced bread, peanut butter, and jelly within arms reach.
Open the package of bread. Remove two slices and place them next to each other on a plate or clean surface.
Open the container of peanut butter and put the lid down near you.
Hold the container with your non-dominant hand then pick up a butter knife with your other hand and use it to remove some of the peanut butter.
'You can't tell me what to do!' hopefully isn't what you were starting to think, hahah.

For the sake of brevity, I came up with about fourteen steps. Try it on your own and feel free to complicate things. Substitute sliced bread for a bagel, roll or wrap. Use your favorite nut butter. Try honey instead of jelly. Crack open that jar of jam you canned last season or, slice some fresh fruit. Add more texture to each bite by including a layer of your favorite chips. There's no wrong answer; anything goes. The possibilities are only limited to the ingredients you have on hand. Peanut butter and jelly hasn’t been a regular part of my diet since college so we rarely have all of the ingredients on hand. In lieu, for this month's What's Cooking Blog, I substituted one iconic sandwich for another that's also equally as economical.

Title of cookbook/database: The New York Times Database - (Path: poklib.org / hold your mouse over the Learn tab / select Online Resources and Databases / select N or, scroll down to Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals.)

Author of Recipe: Julia Moskin

What prompted you to check out this recipe?

A coworker suggested that I look through the recipes in The New York Times for dinner ideas. While browsing the Cooking section in an online subscription, I came across a recipe that reminded me of a short conversation I had earlier that day. The local business owner I spoke with was 'looking forward to dinner because she didn't have to cook; her husband would have grilled cheese ready when she got home from work.' Interesting aside, some form of grilled cheese has been around since the early 1900s and, throughout history this affordable meal has also been referred to as a "cheese box," "toasted cheese," and during the Great Depression the “cheese dream.” (Wilcox 21) Serendipitously, the first recipe that I saw for grilled cheese linked to a handful of variations. Let’s just say, the sky’s the limit! Like PB&J, a grilled cheese sandwich not only has the capability to bring back memories, but can be versatile as well. It took some time to narrow my choices down to three simple recipes by Julia Moskin, Eric Kim, and Ali Slagle. Unfortunately, you'll need a personal subscription to access these recipes from The New York Times Cooking, but there are other recipes available through the library’s subscription of The New York Times database*.

After skimming some of those, I had to see for myself why almost every grilled cheese recipe made available by the New York Times suggested using mayonnaise.

*Access databases at any of the Poughkeepsie Public Library District locations. [Note: remote access to some databases may be limited while others are available throughout the Mid-Hudson Library System.]

What is a Database?

A Database is an index accessible through the internet; they aren’t webpages.
They can include published journals, magazines, newspapers, image collections, newsletters, yearbooks, comic books, etc.
The contents must meet specific collection criteria. For example, articles are edited and/or peer-reviewed.
Databases provide publication dates, bibliographic citations and some may provide links to full text.
They are not free; the library pays for a subscription.
Unlike a personal online subscription (to something like the New York Times, for example), database subscriptions do not include advertisements or, in some cases, the photographs/diagrams displayed in the original article.
There are different types of databases. They can be specialized with content about specific subjects or, general. There can be subtle nuances to searching databases as well as to how the information retrieved is formatted.

If you’re interested in learning how to use any of the databases PPLD subscribes to, contact us at the Adriance Memorial Library Reference Desk - 1-845-485-3445, x3702.

What did you like about this recipe?

Moskin provides a very general list of ingredients, four, to be exact: bread, butter, mayonnaise, grated cheddar or other cheese.

What didn’t you like about this recipe?

Does this American icon really need Mayonnaise and butter? I could probably even use a butter substitute if I turned down the heat and monitored the cook time. Honestly though, we don't eat grilled cheese often enough to experiment with every possible ingredient or method of cooking. Not only are there over 2,000 types of cheese in the world but, who knew you could broil grilled cheese in the oven? (Wilcox 176)

Also note, if you tend to choose what to eat by the photographs, you may be disappointed when you see how the database formats a recipe.

Favorite recipes (that you tried from the cookbook/website):

Grilled Cheese Sandwich.

Did you alter the recipe or make any substitutions?

Our grilled cheese was constructed on Sour dough. As suggested in a number of recipes, I arbitrarily mixed cheeses, melding shredded parmesan (a gift from our neighbor’s trip to Italy. Thank you, again!), gouda, and gruyere with a slice of cheddar but I could easily have included a stronger cheese and, maybe a slice of tomato. I also missed the step to melt cheese on both sides of the bread before sandwiching them in the pan. The fact that it didn't have a deleterious impact should be encouragement for any novice.👍🏻

Would you recommend this cookbook/database?

If you’re not pressed for time or looking for a specific recipe, try searching the database. Learning something new keeps your brain healthy and you never know when you may come across a[nother] classic.

Voila!

References:

Books -

The Great Grilled Cheese Book: Grown-Up Recipes for a Childhood Classic / Eric Greenspan.

Great Book of Grilled Cheese: 100+ Recipes for the Ultimate Comfort Food, Soups, Salads, and Sides / Kim Wilcox. - (In addition to sides, desserts and condiments are included so readers can complete a grilled cheese meal. Read about “The Brief but Important History” of the iconic sandwich in Chapter 1 - Grilled Cheese Essentials, page 21.)

Databases -

Clark, Melissa. "Taking Back a Childhood Favorite." New York Times, 11 April 2007, p. F3(L). The New York Times,

link.gale.com/apps/doc/A161825361/SPN.SP01?u=nysl_se_pghkl&sid=bookmark-SPN.SP01&xid=32219480. Accessed 5 April 2024. - (Try to find another article by searching the following keywords: “grilled cheese.")

Websites -

“Cognitive Health and Older Adults | National Institute on Aging.” National Institute on Aging, www.nia.nih.gov/health/brain-health/cognitive-health-and-older-adults. Accessed 21 April 2024.

Kim, Eric. “Quick Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese.” The New York Times, 29 January 2023, https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1022653-quick-tomato-soup-with-grilled-cheese?smid=url-share.

Member Libraries. Mid-Hudson Library System, https://midhudson.org/libraries/. Accessed 21 April 2024.

Moskin, Julia. “Grilled Cheese Sandwich.” The New York Times, 30 March 2015, https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1017326-grilled-cheese-sandwich?smid=url-share.

"Online Resources and Databases." Poughkeepsie Public Library District, https://poklib.org/learn/online-resources-databases/. Accessed 21 April 2024.

“Recipes and Cooking Guides from the New York Times.” The New York Times, https://cooking.nytimes.com/. Accessed 19 April 2024.

Sifton, Sam. “A Field Guide to the American Sandwich.” The New York Times, 14 April 2015, https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2015/04/14/dining/field-guide-to-the-sandwich.html.

Slagle, Ali. “Grilled Cheese Sandwich on the Grill.” The New York Times, 30 August 2021,

https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1022513-grilled-cheese-sandwich-on-the-grill?smid=url-share.

Vogel, Janelle. “Instructional Writing; How To Make A PB&J.” That After School Life, https://thatafterschoollife.com/pbj.html. Accessed 18 April 2024.

Quick Subject/Concept links to the Discover Online Library catalog:

Brian health - (Results narrowed down by Age group: Adult; Literary Form: Non-fiction; Concepts/subjects/Themes: Mental health, Mind and body, Longevity, Self-care, Health)

Keyword search for: Grilled cheese - (Results narrowed down by Literary Form: Non-fiction; Concepts/subjects/Themes: Cooking (Cheese))

Mindful* - (Results narrowed down by Concepts/subjects/Themes: Mindfulness & Meditation, Inspiration & Personal Growth, Health & Fitness, Self-actualization (Psychology), Body, Mind & Spirit)

By Month

August 2024

July 2024

May 2024

April 2024

March 2024

February 2024

Recent Posts

Tu Voila!

Tu Voila! August 20, 2024.by Bridget O’DonnellIn 2023 while renewing our CSA vegetable share, I added-on a 10-week berry share without hesitating. Since the 2024 berry share started we’ve eaten berries every day, sometimes more than once a day, we also shared a few quarts and still had plenty left to freeze. (Thank you Greig Farm!!)In addition to strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and peaches, a few consecutive weeks also included 2 quarts of blueberries. So awesome! But, once our carefully curated collection started falling out of the freezer every time the door was opened, it was time to make more than a few intermittent protein smoothies. In an attempt to see myself as being successful I told anyone who would listen, “I AM going to make blueberry muffins before the berry share ends.”Throughout the penultimate week of the berry share I looked for recipes containing and/or omitting a few ingredients and finally settled on “Healthy Blueberry Muffins“ by Lisa Longley. To create a lower-glycemic and more nutrient dense breakfast or, fuel before a longer jog I borrowed ingredients from the “Superhero Smash Muffin” recipe in Rise & Run (pg. 100). Even with blueberries, I think the original recipe was intended to be more savory than sweet. Unfortunately, when I doubled Longley’s recipe I forgot to double the honey so they were even more so, making each bite with blueberry that much…MORE. Thankfully, my mistake could easily be remedied with spreadable honey, jam or jelly. Overall, the muffins were palatable and provided hours of sustenance but, I'm going to change a few things in the next batch. Langley's recipe calls for [olive] oil which I usually substitute with unsweetened applesauce in baked goods. Next time I’ll omit the oil and add some banana to give them a subtle sweetness and add moisture. Ultimately, I achieved my goal () but we still had enough berries in the freezer to fill a bucket so I tried a recipe that I would never have thought of on my own…Title of cookbook/website: Epicurious.com Author of Recipe: Anna Stockwell and Emily Saladino What prompted you to check out this recipe?In between patiently listening to me repeat the mantra to make blueberry muffins Lauren C., another CSA member, suggested that I try Clafoutis. She said it looks really impressive at a dinner party and isn’t difficult to make; the New York Times has a good recipe. After a little research, this became the inspiration for this month’s What's Cooking Blog review. What did you like about this recipe? Clafoutis (kla - fou - ti) is a French dish traditionally made with cherries. Over time it has evolved so “almost any fruit can be used.” It can be sweet or a little more savory depending on the amount of sugar added or the type of fruit used. It’s versatile, served for dessert or brunch either at room temperature or cold (so leftovers can be refrigerated). What didn’t you like about this recipe?This recipe isn’t vegan or gluten-free so I can’t share it with people who observe those dietary guidelines. The recipe would also be challenging to reduce, let’s say in half, because it calls for three eggs. Favorite recipes (that you tried from the cookbook/website):Any-Fruit Clafoutis Did you alter the recipe or make any substitutions?After reading through a healthy portion of the Notes at the bottom of the NYTimes recipe and comparing other ‘classic’ recipes to the one by Epicurious.com I decided to try the following modifications. Ingredients that I used:ButterWhole milkEggs[⅓ cup] Granulated cane sugarAll purpose + almond floursLemon zestFine sea saltFrozen berries (black-, blue- and, rasp-berries)Ground gingerwhisky Modifications: Combine ¾ cup all-purpose flour with ¼ cup fine almond flour (for added texture).Prepare the fruit with a portion of the sugar.[After mixing the dry ingredients, including the remaining sugar with a fork because I don’t own a sifter] Add the dry ingredients to a blender containing the frothy mixture a little at a time to avoid clumping. Add 1 teaspoons of ginger powder and a splash of whisky to the blender (optional or, add more to taste).To grease the baking dish, add approximately 2 tablespoons of butter to a cast iron skillet. Preheat the oven to 350˚F and place the skillet in for 6 minutes until the butter has melted. Following Nik Sharma’s recipe on NYTimes.com from step 4 on, I poured a ½ inch layer of the batter [without fruit] in the skillet and baked it for 15 minutes. Then, I arranged 3 cups of prepared fruit in the bottom of the skillet, poured the remaining batter over top and baked it.Begin to check for doneness around 45-50 minutes, rather than 60-65 minutes as instructed. One note suggested that Clafoutis should be slightly browning, not golden brown. Tu Voila! Before serving lightly dust confectioner’s sugar over the top (pictured below). We tried ours with a small spoon of cottage cheese on one side of the plate and a small spoon of vanilla ice cream on the other side for taste testing. The ice cream was the winning accompagnement. (All suggestions in this bullet are optional.)Would you recommend this recipe?Yes, I shared the entire skillet (with vanilla ice cream). There were no complaints. We might say it was berry good! Honestly, I can’t believe it actually worked!!Any-Fruit Clafoutis (with black-, blue- and rasp-berries)Healthy Blueberry Muffin (with Spreadable Honey) References:Books - The Everything Low-Cholesterol Cookbook / Laura Livesey. (Blueberry Almond Muffins, pg. 238 - I was interested in making this but didn't have all the ingredients. Livesey notes that ‘dark berries have up to 50% more antioxidants than lighter colored berries. This includes black-, blue-, cran-, elder- and, boysenberries.’) Rise & Run: Recipes, Rituals, and Runs to Fuel Your Day / Shalane Flanagan & Elyse Kopecky. (Superhero Smash Muffins, pg. 100 - I borrowed the idea of mixing oat and almond flours and, adding ground flax.) Websites -Bellis, Mary. The History of the Refrigerator - and Freezer, theinventors.org/library/inventors/blrefrigerator.htm. Accessed 15 August 2024. Longley, Lisa. “Healthy Blueberry Muffins.” Simple Joy, 29 May 2024, www.simplejoy.com/healthy-blueberry-muffins/. Miquel, Julien. “How to Pronounce Clafoutis? (CORRECTLY).” Youtube, 1 July 2020, www.google.com/search?q=how+to+pronounce+clafoutis&rlz=1C1CHMO_enUS673US674&oq=how+to+pronounce+clafoutis&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOdIBCDU4MDZqMGoxqAIAsAIA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#fpstate=ive&vld=cid:a49dce47,vid:iiaqzbnMDls,st:0. Accessed 15 August 2024. - (00:52 minute video) “Poughkeepsie Farm Project Online Store.” PFP Farm Store, pfpfarmstore.com/. Accessed 15 August 2024. Saladino, Emily, and Anna Stockwell. “How to Make Clafoutis, with (Almost) Any Kind of Fruit.” Epicurious, 21 May 2024, www.epicurious.com/expert-advice/how-to-make-clafoutis-with-any-kind-of-fruit-article. Sharma, Nik. “Blueberry-Ginger Clafoutis.” The New York Times, 13 May 2021, cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1022224-blueberry-ginger-clafoutis. - (You will need a subscription to see this recipe.) Shulman, Martha Rose. “Berry Clafoutis.” The New York Times, 20 May 2014, cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1016382-berry-clafoutis. “Welcome to the Greig Farm: Pick Your Own.” Greig Farm, www.thegreigfarm.com/. Accessed 15 August 2024. Quick Subject/Concept links to the Discover Online Library catalog:Cooking (Berries) - (Results narrowed by Age group: Adult ; Literary Form: Non-Fiction)Berries. - (Results narrowed by Age group: Adult ; Literary Form: Non-Fiction ; Concepts/Subjects/Themes: Desserts, Cooking (Natural foods), Baking, Gardening, Fruit, Berries, Health, Container gardening, Nutrition, Smoothies (Beverages), Fruit-culture)...

Go Green!

Go Green!July 22, 2024.by Bridget O’DonnellYou’ve probably read or heard how important it is to incorporate a rainbow of fruits and vegetables into your diet, I’m sure I’ve mentioned it in a previous What’s Cooking Blog entry or two. This month we certainly don’t discredit that school of thought but, for brevity's sake, focus on the benefits of eating GREEN. Unfortunately, some benefits of eating green fruits and vegetables (and I don’t mean penicillin) aren’t always highlighted in the first few results of a Google search. Sometimes you have to know what questions to ask to create a more effective generative AI prompt. (Don't let the end of that sentence scare you. If you play video games or frequent anything like Siri, YouTube, Social Media or LinkedIn you're already using AI.) To apply some of the terms mentioned in last month's entry, for example, I asked Google if green vegetables are low glycemic. They are. Although I'm not diabetic, eating a cup of greens definitely helps regulate my blood sugar after I’ve had something really sweet. (*Ask your doctor to explain the difference between glycemic index and glycemic load.) To continue the experiment I asked if leafy greens can help reduce inflammation and lower blood pressure and cholesterol. In another search I asked if herbs, like basil, could do the same. There weren't a lot of cons to eating either but be selective when sourcing health information; there's a lot of good and bad information on the internet. Watch for personal intolerances and be aware that some foods should be avoided when taking certain medications. Greens are versatile. Enjoy them raw, prepared as a hot/cold infusion, baked or sautéed if you can. They’re super foods so you may notice that you feel a little more Super after consuming them! Title of cookbook/website: Love & Lemons Author of Recipe: Jeanine Donofrio What prompted you to check out this recipe?Last Saturday was a busy day… After working outside in the summer heat for a few hours, I [went for a jog,] cleaned the herbs that I picked from the farm then rendered an overripe avocado into guacamole for lunch. With that project ‘cleaned up,’ I steeped a batch of Tulsi basil (aka: Holy basil) tea and a smaller batch of mint tea. (Thank You for the mint, Moira! And, I can't wait to try Asian mint in my eggs, Grace!) Moving briskly through Saturday's itinerary, I crossed a few non-edible things off my to-do list then switched gears to start making dinner. In summary, dinner prompted me to check out this recipe. On my drive to the farm that morning I remember thinking basil pesto would make dinner more interesting for a couple nights. Although I make pesto regularly during the summer months, I wanted a quick reference for measurements; this recipe is a classic. What did you like about this recipe? Pesto is amazing! Dinner was delicious. (Try freezing leftover pesto in ice cube trays. Aside from the ingredients, the two main variations that I've come across with this means of preservation include: adding the cheese and/or garlic after defrosting and, pouring a thin layer of olive oil on the top of the pesto before covering it with plastic wrap and freezing. Just about everything is optional.) What didn’t you like about this recipe?Adding more olive oil (or reserved pasta water) may have given my pesto a smoother texture, if that's what I was really going for. Favorite recipes (that you tried from the cookbook/website):Basil Pesto Recipe Did you alter the recipe or make any substitutions?My pesto usually includes spinach to enhance the nutrient density and color. Alas, I didn't have any and wanted to avoid a trip to the store to buy one thing (because it's never really one thing). Walnuts or almonds are what I'd usually use as a substitute for pine nuts but we only had pecans and pistachios. So, I made myself comfortable and shelled a little over half a cup of pistachios (because I ate a few) but, you can use almost any nut you have or like. Would you recommend this recipe?Pesto dishes always make me feel healthy and energized! For dinner I spread the pesto on top of white fish, like Natalie Perry's recipe and, as a transfer of learning, on top of chicken tenderloins. Both dishes were baked simultaneously at 350°F. The proteins were served over thin pasta tossed with the remaining pesto and a side salad. Guacamole on Sourdough Toast (aka, Avocado Toast), Skinnytaste.com - recipe reduced for 1 avocado, cilantro omitted.Basil Pistachio Pesto References:Books - An Avocado A Day: More Than 70 Recipes for Enjoying Nature's Most Delicious Superfood / Lara Ferroni. - ("Gaby's Famous Guacamole" pg. 27)Growing Your Own Tea Garden: The Guide to Growing and Harvesting Flavorful Teas in Your Backyard / Jodi Helmer.H2Oh!: Infused Waters for Health and Hydration / Mimi Kirk.The Pesto Cookbook: Dozens of Surprising Flavor Combinations from Fresh Herbs and Greens / Olwen Woodier. - (This cookbook has a “Classic Genovese Pesto” on pg. 24 that's similar to the recipe highlighted in this post; I've never made pesto with butter, though.)Websites - Donofrio, Jeanine. “Basil Pesto Recipe.” Love & Lemons, 16 May 2024, www.loveandlemons.com/pesto-recipe/.“Eat Your Way to Better Health: Why Leafy Greens Are Your Magic Weapon.” Summa Health, www.summahealth.org/flourish/entries/2024/03/eat-your-way-to-better-health-why-leafy-greens-are-your-magic-weapon#:~:text=The%20health%20benefits%20of%20leafy%20greens&text=Minerals%20like%20calcium%2C%20potassium%2C%20magnesium,can%20reduce%20inflammation%20and%20bloating. Accessed 18 July 2024.Homolka, Gina. “The Best Guacamole Recipe.” Skinnytaste, 28 April 2024, www.skinnytaste.com/guacamole-recipe/.“Low-Glycemic Index Diet: What’s Behind the Claims?” Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 2 November 2022, www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/low-glycemic-index-diet/art-20048478. Marr, Bernard. “15 Amazing Real-World Applications of AI Everyone Should Know About.” Forbes, Forbes Magazine, 20 February 2024, www.forbes.com/sites/bernardmarr/2023/05/10/15-amazing-real-world-applications-of-ai-everyone-should-know-about/.Perry, Natalie. “Baked Cod with Pesto.” Perry’s Plate, 18 June 2024, www.perrysplate.com/2014/03/baked-fish-lemon-basil-pesto-two-sides.html.Streed, Joel. “Eat the Rainbow for Good Health.” Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 21 July 2022, newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/discussion/eat-the-rainbow-for-good-health/.Tsang Barrett, Teri. “11 Best Pine Nut Substitutes for Pesto.” The Pioneer Woman, www.thepioneerwoman.com/food-cooking/cooking-tips-tutorials/g36791977/pine-nut-substitute/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=mgu_ga_pw_md_pmx_hybd_mix_us_18891731492&gad_source=1&gclid=CjwKCAjwhvi0BhA4EiwAX25uj1inDdzLcON4N0Q0d_J5X4_78pwl8OO8fDfRszBE-wAe9IEdqTPYwhoCF6UQAvD_BwE. Accessed 22 July 2024.WebMD Editorial Contributors, and Zilpah Sheikh. “Health Benefits of Basil.” WebMD, www.webmd.com/diet/health-benefits-basil. Accessed 18 July 2024.WebMD Editorial Contributors, and Christine Mikstas. “What Are Low Glycemic Foods?” Web, www.webmd.com/diet/what-are-low-glycemic-foods. Accessed 18 July 2024.“What Is Generative Ai? An Easy-to-Understand Video with Example.” YouTube, Kotwel, 14 July 2023, www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n2ZmTWg7fI.Quick Subject/Concept links to the Discover Online Library catalog:Cooking (Herbs)Cooking (Vegetables) - (Results narrowed by Literary Form: Non-Fiction)...

Sugar. Oh, honey, honey

Sugar. Oh, Honey, Honey… July 5, 2024. by Bridget O’Donnell Routine bloodwork brought our attention to a few numbers that have slowly encroached on borderline to moderately elevated, with cholesterol and glucose in the forefront. Despite a lifestyle of predominately clean eating and regular exercise, I’ve tentatively watched my numbers continue to rise a nominal amount for the last two years. Now that we both needed to make a more concerted effort, I felt the time spent reading about how we might begin to do this was overdue. Total cholesterol - Glucose (aka: Sugar) - Charts provided by: healthline.com Current government websites generated from a google search seem to gloss over how someone might begin to reverse the anomaly and improve their numbers. By suggesting a handful of foods to eat or avoid, and encouraging daily but light exercise, resources like the American Heart Association and Dietary Guidelines (.gov) can speak to a wider audience. Unfortunately, (or to be honest, fortunately), people have different bodies, heredities, lifestyles and goals. We all have limitations, but try to be thankful for the abilities and good health you do have. Authoritative print resources pertaining to cholesterol appear to be more heavily published between the late 1990s to about 2017. As is often the case, research shifts over time. Subsequent publications that contain the word cholesterol also seem to address the phenomenon of comorbidity, suggesting that high cholesterol has a close relationship with other health issues. The antiquated argument that people developed this condition solely by eating foods containing cholesterol and saturated fats has been replaced with cholesterol's relation to other conditions and chronic diseases including obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease and inflammation. Thankfully, diet and lifestyle changes made to counter the aforementioned also aid in lowering cholesterol. Stress, aging and a few other factors could also be considered, but I recently read that children can have high cholesterol too(!!!). To help avoid medications, I came across suggestions for intermittent fasting and following the DASH, South Beach, Mediterranean, and Keto diets. [The Keto diet would never be one that I would rely on personally.] Additional recommendations include avoiding an overconsumption of starches, carbohydrates and ultimately, sugar, while adding more fiber and foods with a low glycemic index/load to your diet. With more books checked out than I can feasibly read from cover to cover before leaving to attend a conference, I’ve only scratched the surface. To be continued... **Talk to your doctor about how your diet might affect personal health issues and/or ask for a referral to discuss them with a specialist like a dietician** So now what? Sugar seems to be the culprit of many aliments, so that’s where we’re starting. Because our numbers are borderline and we're more or less asymptomatic, I feel there's a little less urgency to reinvent the wheel. We’re not going to throw away everything we already have containing starch, carbohydrates or sugar. but we will be more conscious about how often (and how much) we consume them. We will also try to be more aware of what we buy in the future. Working in our favor, we’ve already cut out most foods with processed sugar. Our meals are balanced and plant forward--especially during the CSA vegetable season which, for us, covers most of the year. (During this period I don't get many colds; Popeye may have been on to something.) Moving forward, we can look for more foods that have a lower glycemic index, like strawberries, but to be fair we will still occasionally have gelato or full fat ice cream. Hopefully our efforts are enough to curb pre-diabetes and collectively lower our cholesterol without medication. Tangentially, while writing this blog entry I came across an email from the Walkway over the Hudson that referred to June's full moon as the "strawberry moon." According to Nasa, this name refers to the relatively short season for harvesting strawberries in the north-eastern United States. Serendipitously, for the 2024 season I had the foresight to purchase a berry share from a local farm working cooperatively with my CSA. The first few weeks they’ve had strawberries. Strawberry Shortcake any everyone? The second and third week I had to freeze a large portion of the 'berries to arrest ripening. Those will be perfect for smoothies. Their short harvesting season does make me wonder where the groceries stores are sourcing the 'berries they sell all year long. Using 1 cup of fresh strawberries I revisited the strawberry-rhubarb pairing (suggested in PPLD's What’s Cooking Blog for “All-Season Mocktails, Spritzers, Syrups and Shrubs”) and made a "Naturally Sweet Strawberry and Rhubarb Compote.” -- Add less honey for a lower sugar version, which I did, or substitute agave for a vegetarian/vegan version. Canning & Preserving has another recipe on page 57 that you might also want to try. ....Serve over angel food cake with whipped cream (as shown in the photo at the top of this post), over pancakes or waffles, ice cream or gelato, on toast with or without your choice of nut butter, in parfait or yogurt with or without granola... You get the idea. Whatever you decide to put it on, Enjoy!! If you can tolerate a little more sugar you might consider giving the following recipe a try. One of our Librarians, Kayleigh H. found a recipe for this street food on TikTok then created a batch in our staff kitchen for a Teen program. It may not be low-sugar per se but it is made with fruit, strawberries work well. Tanghulu is probably a little healthier than some of the snacks sold at the convenience store, too. Title of cookbook/website: Aubrey's Kitchen Author of Recipe: Aubrey ... What prompted you to check out this recipe? Checked out the recipe because of videos on TikTok. What did you like about this recipe? This recipe was really easy to make! All you need is sugar and water in a 2:1 ratio and fruit. History: Tanghulu is a popular northern Chinese street food traditionally made with hawthorn fruit, but you can use strawberries, grapes, blueberries, clementines- whatever fruit you desire, but fruit with an enclosed skin works best. What didn’t you like about this recipe? [Nothing] Favorite recipes (that you tried from the cookbook/website): Tanghulu! Did you alter the recipe or make any substitutions? Nope! Would you recommend this cookbook? Yes. References: Books - American Heart Association Healthy Fats, Low-Cholesterol Cookbook: Delicious Recipes to Help Reduce Bad Fats and Lower Your Cholesterol. Canning & Preserving: 80+ Simple, Small-Batch Recipes / Good Housekeeping. Cholesterol: the Essential Guide / Sara Kirkham. The Dash Diet Action Plan: Proven to Lower Blood Pressure and Cholesterol without Medication / Marla Heller. Diabetes & Heart Healthy Cookbook: More than 160 Delicious Recipes for Everything from Snacks to Desserts / American Heart Association. Eating For Lower Cholesterol: A Balanced Approach to Heart Health with Recipes Everyone Will Love / Catherine Jones with Elaine Trujillo. The Fiber Fueled Cookbook: Inspiring Plant-Based Recipes to Turbocharge Your Health / Will Bulsiewicz, recipes by Alexandra Caspero. The Glycemic Load Diet Cookbook: 150 Recipes to Help You Lose Weight and Reverse Insulin Resistance / Rob Thompson & Dana Carpender. The Great Cholesterol Myth. Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease--and the Statin-Free Plan That Will / Johnny Bowden. Perfect Cholesterol In Just Three Weeks (Without Drugs!): The Answer to High Cholesterol / Dr. David M. Vitko. Websites - “The Archies - Sugar Sugar.” YouTube, 14 Feb. 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=PcLObPhKdDk. Aubry. “Tanghulu.” Aubrey’s Kitchen, 10 Sept. 2020, aubreyskitchen.com/tanghulu/. “Cholesterol - Search Results.” National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, search.nih.gov/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&affiliate=nhlbi_nhlbi_prod&query=cholesterol&commit=Search. Accessed 5 July 2024. “Community Supported Agriculture (CSA).” Poughkeepsie Farm Project, www.farmproject.org/csa. Accessed 5 July 2024. Goldman, Rena, et al. “The Recommended Cholesterol Levels By Age.” Healthline, Healthline Media, www.healthline.com/health/high-cholesterol/levels-by-age#adults. Accessed 5 July 2024. Hartnett, Kayleigh. “Tanghulu.” Canva, https://www.canva.com/design/DAGHfDtWWNM/N9WC_HcJ8_BQuMKenjDVSA/edit. Accessed 5 July 2024. - Link to sheets w/recipe and instructions Hoskins, Mike, and Stacy Sampson. “Blood Sugar Level Chart Based on Age.” Healthline, Healthline Media, 24 Mar. 2023, www.healthline.com/health/diabetes/blood-sugar-levels-chart-by-age#glucose-by-age. Johnston, Gordon. “The Next Full Moon Is the Strawberry Moon - NASA Science.” NASA, 13 June 2024, science.nasa.gov/solar-system/skywatching/the-next-full-moon-is-the-strawberry-moon-2/. Mansour, Donna. “Naturally Sweetened Strawberry Rhubarb Compote.” Whole Food Bellies, 4 June 2019, www.wholefoodbellies.com/strawberry-rhubarb-compote/. Quick Subject/Concept links to the Discover Online Library catalog: Canning and preserving Cholesterol Natural Sugar* - (Results narrowed by Format: Book; Literary Form: Non-fiction; Concepts: Nutrition, Cooking (Natural foods), Sugar-free diet, Desserts, Baking, Reducing diets, Detoxification (Health)) Sugar-Free Diet ...

Pastel de Tres Leches

Pastel de Tres Leches y... May 10, 2024. by Bridget O’Donnell Last May PPLD's What’s Cooking Blog offered belated holiday blessings with Mexican-Inspired Fish Tacos, Two-ways. As suggested in that post, there’s no need to limit the celebration to a single recipe. In addition to fish tacos made any number of ways, there’s enough traditional fare to observe Cinco de Mayo until the next holiday. Enjoy tamales, chalupas, enchiladas, taquitos, guacamole, salsa [verde], carnitas, empanadas, street corn, fajitas and burritos, to list a few(!). Burritos used to be a regular part of my diet and, as I continued working on this blog entry the more I tried to remember the last time I had one, the bigger my craving got. Boil, mash and season your own refried beans to regulate the amount of salt (and cumin). Or, for a quick plant-forward lunch packed with fiber, protein, essential vitamins and minerals, opt for a can of organic low-sodium refried beans. …Reheat the beans then add a few small scoops to a street sized taco wrap with a shredded cheese blend and un poquito de salsa. Estimated assembly time: minutes and, dos burritos were filling enough to get me through the day without feeling like I had to take a siesta. Helping to maintain balance between savory and sweet, this month una usuaria de la biblioteca suggested a recipe for “Pastel de Tres Leches con Chocolate” or "Three Milks Cake with Chocolate." This popular Mexican dessert is a light sponge cake that's been soaked in a mixture of three milks - sweetened condensed milk, whole milk or heavy cream and evaporated milk. It also happens to be another dish traditionally served during holidays like Christmas, birthday parties and... Cinco de Mayo(!). Title of cookbook: Los Mejores Postres Paso A Paso Author of Recipe: Kiwilimón What prompted you to check out this recipe? A library patron submitted this dulce recipe suggestion and photograph to my coworker after being introduced to the What’s Cooking Blog. What did you like about this recipe? The cookbook is still checked out so I haven’t actually seen this recipe but, it must have been mucho bien. Gracias, I love seeing other perspectives from la cocina! What didn’t you like about this recipe? Based on a few recipes that I found online, Pastel de Tres Leches may have more sugar than I can tolerate without feeling like I have to jog a 5K or half marathon. Maybe I can repurpose some of my leftover refried beans into a "Korean Chapssaltteok" or "Chinese Sticky Rice Cake." Food fusion? Favorite recipes (that you tried from the cookbook/website): Pastel de Tres Leches con Chocolate. Did you alter the recipe or make any substitutions? You could say I altered the recipe, that I turned it into a simple bean burrito (hahah…) but, I’d definitely try a small bite of el pastel. Would you recommend this cookbook? Based on the excerpts shown in Amazon's listing, this cookbook looks muy tasteful. The photos are hermosas and the text gives me practice translating Spanish because an English edition doesn’t seem to be available. Guess which one is for dessert? Pastel de Tres Leches con Chocolate References: Books - Los Mejores Postres Paso A Paso / Kiwilimón. Websites - Clark, Julie. “Chocolate Tres Leches Cake.” The Best Cake Recipes, 4 June 2023, https://thebestcakerecipes.com/chocolate-tres-leches-cake/. Esposito, Shaylyn. “What to Really Eat on Cinco de Mayo: Put Down the Margaritas and Tacos, and Pick Up a Chalupa.” Smithsonian Magazine, Smithsonian Institution, 3 May 2013, https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/what-to-really-eat-on-cinco-de-mayo-50767054/. Linares, Krista. “Are Refried Beans Healthy? Latina Dietitian Explains the Benefits.” Nutritionconsabor.com, 23 April 2024, https://nutritionconsabor.com/refried-beans-healthy/#:~:text=Refried%20beans%20are%20a%20nutrient%20rich%20food!,healthy%20diet%20with%20minimal%20problem.. Lowder, Camille. “51 Mexican-Inspired Party Ideas Perfect For Cinco de Mayo: Let’s Party (Respectfully! No Sombreros Allowed).” Delish.Com, 4 April 2024, https://www.delish.com/holiday-recipes/cinco-de-mayo/g652/mexican-party-menu-recipes/. Orozco-Moore, Isabel. “Chocolate Tres Leches Cake.” Isabel Eats, 18 April 2024, https://www.isabeleats.com/chocolate-tres-leches-cake/. Orozco-Moore, Isabel. “42 Cinco de Mayo Recipes.” Isabel Eats, 22 April 2024, https://www.isabeleats.com/cinco-de-mayo-recipes/. Quick Subject/Concept links to the Discover Online Library catalog: Cook* - (Results narrowed down by Literary Form: Non-fiction; Language: Spanish) ...

American Icons

American Icons, Indexed

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

American Icons

American Icons, Indexed

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.