Skip to Main Content
Local Organizations Providing Legal Assistance
Legal Services of the Hudson Valley
We are dedicated to providing free, high-quality counsel in civil matters where basic human
needs are at stake for low-income individuals and families who cannot afford an attorney
Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York (serving Columbia and Greene County residents)
The Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York fights for fairness, dignity, and justice for those living in poverty and for a society which is inclusive and equitable for all. We transform lives, build community and empower people by using the law to address individual and systemic wrongs and inequities.
Worker Justice Center of New York
The Worker Justice Center of New York pursues justice for those denied human rights with a focus on agricultural and other low wage workers, through legal representation, community empowerment and advocacy for institutional change.
Justia -"Ask a Lawyer" Free Service
Selected Print Resources for Legal Information
Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court by Cara O'Neill
Win your small claims case! You don't need a lawyer to win in small claims court if you know how to prepare and present your case. Properly preparing for your day in court can make thedifference between receiving a check and writing one. Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court provides the information, tips, and strategies you need to sue someone successfully or to put up a winning defense in any state. Find out how to: file and serve papers mediate an out-of-court settlement prepare evidence to support your case decide the amount to sue for line up persuasive witnesses present a winning case, and collect money when you win. The 19th edition's settlement section explains negotiationtechniques you can use to settle your small claims case--or any otherdisagreement you might have--without going to court. You'll also find the latestprocedures for small claims courts in every state, sample letters, legal forms,and links to other resources, including an online statute of limitations chartthat will help you determine when you must file your case.
Publication Date: 2022
Leases and Rental Agreements by Marcia Stewart; Janet Portman
Create a solid, binding lease that complies with your state laws If you rent out residential real estate, you need to create documents that are legally valid where your rental property is located. Every state's rules are different when it comes to what landlords must include in their leases, and stationery store forms don't tell you what you need to know.
Publication Date: 2019
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions by Virginia M. Tucker; Marc Lampson
Whether for self-representation, to be an informed consumer of legal services, or to learn the U.S. legal system, more people than ever are using the library to obtain legal information and legal research advice. The new edition of Finding the Answers to Legal Questions is a comprehensive guide to help librarians confidently assist users in finding the legal information they need. Newly revised and updated, this timely, clearly organized, and easy-to-use resource is packed with guidance to help librarians answer questions that span the gamut of the law. An ideal book for practicing librarians looking to better serve users' legal needs, as well as for students preparing for careers as librarians, it provides an overview of fundamental legal information, including the basic structure of the U.S. legal system and primary law; how-to instructions for finding primary law in print sources, free websites, and pay-for-view databases; information on how to evaluate the trustworthiness of online and print resources; tips for conducting a legal reference interview; guidance for handling common legal questions, such as lawsuits, family law, landlord-tenant disputes, wills and estate planning, debt, bankruptcy, employment, and criminal law; and advice on how to build a basic legal reference collection. This book will help librarians connect users to the most accurate, up-to-date legal information.
Publication Date: 2017
Becoming a U. S. Citizen by Ilona Bray
Everything you need to become a naturalized U.S. citizen The sooner a green card holder becomes a U.S. citizen, the sooner he or she gains a host of benefits: the right to vote and apply for certain federal jobs, faster immigration for family, protection against deportation or new anti-immigration legislation, and more.
Publication Date: 2019
Useful Sites for Legal Definitions and General Information
Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court by
Win your small claims case! You don't need a lawyer to win in small claims court if you know how to prepare and present your case. Properly preparing for your day in court can make thedifference between receiving a check and writing one. Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court provides the information, tips, and strategies you need to sue someone successfully or to put up a winning defense in any state. Find out how to: file and serve papers mediate an out-of-court settlement prepare evidence to support your case decide the amount to sue for line up persuasive witnesses present a winning case, and collect money when you win. The 19th edition's settlement section explains negotiationtechniques you can use to settle your small claims case--or any otherdisagreement you might have--without going to court. You'll also find the latestprocedures for small claims courts in every state, sample letters, legal forms,and links to other resources, including an online statute of limitations chartthat will help you determine when you must file your case.
Leases and Rental Agreements by
Create a solid, binding lease that complies with your state laws If you rent out residential real estate, you need to create documents that are legally valid where your rental property is located. Every state's rules are different when it comes to what landlords must include in their leases, and stationery store forms don't tell you what you need to know.
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions by
Whether for self-representation, to be an informed consumer of legal services, or to learn the U.S. legal system, more people than ever are using the library to obtain legal information and legal research advice. The new edition of Finding the Answers to Legal Questions is a comprehensive guide to help librarians confidently assist users in finding the legal information they need. Newly revised and updated, this timely, clearly organized, and easy-to-use resource is packed with guidance to help librarians answer questions that span the gamut of the law. An ideal book for practicing librarians looking to better serve users' legal needs, as well as for students preparing for careers as librarians, it provides an overview of fundamental legal information, including the basic structure of the U.S. legal system and primary law; how-to instructions for finding primary law in print sources, free websites, and pay-for-view databases; information on how to evaluate the trustworthiness of online and print resources; tips for conducting a legal reference interview; guidance for handling common legal questions, such as lawsuits, family law, landlord-tenant disputes, wills and estate planning, debt, bankruptcy, employment, and criminal law; and advice on how to build a basic legal reference collection. This book will help librarians connect users to the most accurate, up-to-date legal information.
Becoming a U. S. Citizen by
Everything you need to become a naturalized U.S. citizen The sooner a green card holder becomes a U.S. citizen, the sooner he or she gains a host of benefits: the right to vote and apply for certain federal jobs, faster immigration for family, protection against deportation or new anti-immigration legislation, and more.
