Skip to main content

Foundation Center: Home

Adriance Memorial Library is a Funding Information Network partner of the Foundation Center. This guide takes you to the library's resources for nonprofit organizations..

FOUNDATION CENTER

The Adriance Memorial Library is a Funding Information Network partner with the Foundation Center. The Foundation Center’s mission is to gather, analyze and disseminate information about foundations to organizations and individuals looking for grants. Adriance’s funding resources are available for use whenever the Library is open. Computers to access the Foundation Center’s databases are located in Adriance’s Reference Room on the Main Floor. Ask at the Reference Desk to be directed to the online resources and circulating print collection of books.

Grants to Indivuduals Online

Use the Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (FGTIOL) database for free in the Reference Room at the Adriance Memorial Library to search for the few grants that foundations do give to individuals. Most of the grants to individuals in this database are for education, or for artists and writers.

Search the Catalog

Search the Catalog

Search the Mid-Hudson Library System online catalog for books and videos on issues and information pertaining to nonprofit corporations.

For fundraising, planned giving, grant proposal writinguse the following subject heading:
Nonprofit organizations-Finance

For nonprofit boards, planning, executive director, communications, use the following subject heading:
Nonprofit organizations-Management

For directories of foundations and grant givers, use the following subject heading:
Endowments-United States-Directories

For how-to on writing proposal and general grant writing try the heading:
Proposal Writing for Grants

Use the Library Catalog’s Request-a-title option to request books and videos to be sent to the most convenient library for you to pick them up.

Find Funders

Find Funders for your nonprofit organization

Foundation Directory Online (FDOL) is the Foundation Center’s premier searchable database. It contains records for many thousands of U. S. grant makers.You can email FDOL records to yourself or save them to a flash drive. (Printing costs fifteen cents per page.)

At Adriance Memorial Library ask at the reference desk on the Main Floor for full and FREE access to FDOL Professional (available within the building only). Use one of our research computers or your wi-fi enabled device, click HERE for immediate access to FDOL.

 

Librarian

Grantspace

Try GrantSpace for easy-to-use, self-service tools and resources that help nonprofits worldwide become more viable grant applicants and build strong, sustainable organizations. Join today to build a better tomorrow.

Useful sites for nonprofits

Other Useful Sites for Nonprofits

Association of Fundraising Professionals
“Advancing philanthropy through education, training and advocacy”

Chronicle of Philanthropy
News for nonprofit organizations, grant seeking, foundations, fundraising, managing nonprofit groups, technology and nonprofit jobs

Grants.gov
“A unified site for interaction between grant applicants and the U. S. Federal agencies”

Guidestar
“The leading source of information on U. S. nonprofits.”

IRS Tax Information for Charities & other Nonprofits
“Important Federal Tax information for non-profits”

NYS Attorney General’s Charities Bureau Page
Supervises charitable organizations in New York State

NYCON
New York Council of Nonprofits offering high-quality affordable technical assistance and more

Resources for Nonprofit Financial Management-From the Wallace Foundation
Detailed help is given, and policy and procedure recommendations offered.